Sheepy Dalek, Name that Lava XVI !

Nothing much seems to have been happening in the volcano world, or at least, we did not notice much going on.
But Volcanocafe saw it´s 50 000 comment. As long as people seemed to hesitate, GeoLoco threw himself into action in an act of heroism, and with this, subsequently into the spam prison. With a flaming speech praising Volcanocafe and our Leader Carl he ecceded the benchmark of 50K comments.
He was awarded a special medal.
GeoLoco says: July 19, 2012 at 19:38 Thank you Carl!
.
.
If you missed his efforts, check the comments on page 3 of the last post from this onward. GeoLoco says: July 19, 2012 at 19:25 OK.

Now for your weekends special entertainment: Name that Lava XVI

1 point, for the volcano, the lava, the number of surounding cones, and a very special beverage of the region.

Current standing: Name that Lava:
7 Spica
5 Ursula
4 Diana Barnes
4 DFMorvan
3 Lughduniense
3 Talla
3KarenZ
2 Doug Merson
2 Hattie
2 Schteve42
2 Irpsit
2 Stephanie Alice Halford
2 Cryphia
2 Sissel
1 Jim
1 Luisport
1 Heather B
1 Jamie
1 Henri le Revenant
1 UKViggen
1 Alan C
1 Bobbi

and Alans Riddles
Current ranking ( last updated 14.7.12)
6 Talla
3 Sissel
3 Henri le Revenant
2 Ursula
1 lughduniese
1 purohueso745
1 KarenZ
1 UKViggen
1 Carl
( I hope i got the current standings correctly)
UPDATE at the end of this post!

I dont think the riddle posted on wednesday has been solved, by the mighty Alan. Meaning, maybe someone got it right, maybe the competition is still open??
Huh! Last week, I went into a nice bakers – they only had this rock-cake! ???
Update!

If you need hints how Alans brain works: There is an addition to our menu in the section “Gems”. You will find Alans evil riddles and answers there. And the geologist in Alans breast, will certainly be happy, if you read up on some of the minerals which were the correct answers.
You might also notice that some pages with microscopic images have been added but are still “Work In Progress” so not fully done yet.

Diana had an interesting insight this morning, ( which landed in the spam vault) after Renato posted a link:
Diana Barnes says: July 20, 2012 at 06:33
Quote: “Renato posted that Mt Tongariro in new Zealand is grumbling. Interestingly, there are reports that this volcanic alert level has been lifted‎. NOW…. Here’s why the tiny differences in English language round the world are important and could cause confusion in world wide communication.. To me, here in the UK, the word “lifted” in relation to an alert or a ban, means that the alert or a ban has been removed so there is no need to act.. In New Zealand it means the alert level has been raised.
The moral of this perusing is……Don’t just read the headlines, read the full information available yourself!
http://nz.news.yahoo.com/a/-/top-stories/14281569/mt-tongariro-volcanic-alert-level-lifted/

I can only agree, language can sometimes be a problem.

Erik just put up a new post on Tongario on his blog Eruptions.
And “Earthquake – Report” sums up the volcanic action today: Volcano activity of July 20, 2012 – Mt. Tongariro (New Zealand), Soufrière Hills (Montserrat), Bagana, Nyiragongo, Popocatepetl, Fuego and Galeras

For your weekends entertainment: Here are several possibilities.
An interesting knitting pattern for the ladies taken from the seimsometer of the Redoubt Volcano in Alaska:


( Interesting in the sense of knitting pattern, not in the sense of volcanic action going on!)
.

Or cook your very own volcano:
Here is a family recipe for : “Mohr im Hemd”, an Austrian speciality
(I am not even trying to translate that so not to be called a racist. it is a cake and it tastes delicious.)

130 g butter, 130 g sugar, 4 eggs, 90 g dark chocolate, 70 g breadcrumbs, 70 g grated hazelnuts or almonds, 2 rolls which had been soaking in milk
Mix the butter, sugar and the yolks for at least 5 minutes and add the molten chocolate. Stir the nuts, the crushed rolls and the beaten egg whites into the mass carefully. Fill it into a form which had been buttered and coated with crystal sugar and cook it in water for at least 90 minutes.
You need to have a form which can be closed on top and can stand in a cooking pot.

Or create your very own volcano online. This game is not only for fun, you can learn how the emmited type of lava and the type of volcano changes, next to the nice boom you get when going for a plinian style.
http://www.alaskamuseum.org/features/volcano/index.htm
.

..or watching a video. My suggestion would be “How the Universe works: Volcanoes”. A part of it can be watched on http://science.discovery.com/videos/how-the-universe-works-volcanoes-on-other-planets.html
And a special webcam shot of Hekla just earlier today, looking dramatic

and on July the 16 looking peaceful.

I wish you a “sunny” weekend. The first round in the Sheepy Dalek Bar is on the house, celebrating the 50K comment.
Spica
Update: Here is a new Riddle from Carl instead:
“Oh no, here comes the mother of all golfers!”
It is a mineral of course.
And the current standing regarding Alan´s riddles:
Quoting Carl:
KarenZ got the Boulangerite. And I also awarded an extra point for Bakerite to some mysterious person named Spica…
I flat out refuse that Bakerite is not a correct answer also to that conundrum. Not only is it perfect for the Riddle, it also alludes to Sherlock Holmes who lived on Baker Street. And all the Riddlers in here are rather Sherlockian in their approach.

And being the greedy old dragon that i am. I will let that go into the list because this is most likely the only chance i stand with Alan´s.
So.. new ranking
6 Talla
3 Sissel
3 Henri le Revenant
2 KarenZ
2 Ursula
1 lughduniese
1 purohueso745
1 UKViggen
1 Carl
1 Spica

Spica

299 thoughts on “Sheepy Dalek, Name that Lava XVI !

        • I made a screenshot to show you, but tinypic doesn’t work for me anymore since I changed internet providers (always get a message that my IP was banned from tinypic 😦 )

          • In all likelihood, the previous occupant of that IP, or somewhere in that IP block was misbehaving and got the block banned.

            You will need to take it up with the ISP since it’s quite likely that they appear on one of the blacklists somewhere… which could also affect their mail services. (many mail operators subscribe to real time black hole lists)

            Your other option is to contact TinyPic and see if they can un-ban the IP.

            The issue that I had was that I would get no ban message, just a picture of a shoe or some Japanese classroom instead of what I uploaded. I finally had to make an account with them to clear and the anonymous service started working again.

  1. Mother of all golfers = famous Swedish golfer Annika Sorenstam and one of the best golfers ever.
    Mineral: Annite?

  2. Hmm…

    In mineralogy, “mother” is a term albeit in a different form – matrix. The way the riddle is phrased actually asks for “the mother” (of all golfers), so either Carl’s found a group of minerals with “golf-related” names that occur but in the one paragenesis or he’s got a specific mineral that ties in with “mother”. Since we’ve already had Anneite (clever thinking!), look for sumphin’ like “rangeite” or (St.) Andrewsite – the latter is a compound of three minerals and is thus discredited.

    If neither, I’ll get me “driver” – http://www.construction-machine.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/Pile-Driver-History1.jpg

  3. Choloalite, after the earlier game of “chole”, or Kolfanite from the early game of Kolf, meaning club.

  4. I’m running out of ideas so will stop soon, and this is not a golf utensil, but Mary Queen of Scots is sometimes referred to as the “Mother of Golf”, so perhaps Scotlandite?

  5. Maybe something to do with greens, courses or the rough, even tees, shafts and holes could be relevant….Who knows but Carl….I’m away to watch Shrek….good excuse as my niece is visiting for the evening.

  6. I should probably clarify that I do not play golf myself. I have tried it a few times, but noticed that I really should not since I almost killed the bartender in the clubhouse. Bartenders are important people, so therefore I stay away from golf to save that particular endangered specii.

        • Ha, how did you do that? I nearly zonked my mother with a three iron once. We had a long section where you could practise driving (provided you only used an iron and didn’t hit too hard). My mistake was that the club somehow slipped out of my hand and went spiralling up into the air and landed on our terrace where my Mum was reading. She was pretty stoic about it though. “Keep practising dear”. I never did make it on to a golf course though. Maybe when I turn 80.

      • A peg is a little wooden thingy that you stick down into the ground. The top is counter-sunk so that you can place the ball ontop of it. Thusly the balls are not ontop of the grass, alleviating the grass getting destroyed when you whack your balls with the club.
        Probably works if you know what you are doing. I didn’t.

        In the end, an image tells more than a thousand words.

    • Phew! :mops brow: Was about to read the rest of the mineral book again (fortified by a glass of red wine). 😀

    • Technically, pegmatite is not a mineral but a rock as it is composed of several minerals. In main, it’s quartz, feldspar and mica but there can be substantial quantities of other minerals such as pyroxenes, garnet, beryl. Under certain conditions, the quartz may be replaced by nepheline.

      That said, good riddle!

      • Also makes for a good mining prospect…
        They form from water rich melts, which are typically the last liquid left over in a plutonic event, the water concentrates because there is no place for it in the minerals as they crystalise…
        Other substances such as lithium, gold and uranium are also “incompatible” with minerals, so can be found concentrated in pegmatites…
        Unusual combinations may occur producing beryls, garnets etc
        Info from:
        Encyclopedia of earthquakes and volcanoes by A.E. Gates and D. Ritchie
        isbn 0816063028
        It lives next to the computer 🙂

        • From my library books:

          Feldspar Pegmatite: same mineral composition as granite, with a high proportion of feldspar. Silica content > 65%. Forms in plutonic environments: dykes and veins; and, found concentrated at the edge of granitic intrusions.

          Mica Pegmatite: granitic composition with >65% silica and >20% mica. White muscovite mica may form as large sheets in the rock mass. Forms in plutonic environments associated with slow cooling magma and late stage fluids that can carry some rarer chemical elements.

          Tourmaline Pegmatite: composition similar to granite with > 20% quartz and >65% silica. Includes tourmaline. Also forms in slow cooling magmas in large intrusions, dykes and sill at considerable depth in the crust.

          “Rocks and Minerals” Chris Pellant, Dorling Kindersley Ltd, 2000.

          Pegmatites are the source of gemstones (tourmaline, aquamarines, emerald, rock crystal, smokey quartz, moonstone and garnet); and, minerals( beryllium, lithium, tin, titanium, molybdenum, tungsten, tantalum, niobium and other rare elements).

          “Rocks and Minerals” Robert Louis Bonewitz, Dorling Kindersley Ltd, 2008.

          • I do like a hard copy… 😉
            Dorling Kindersly IMO produce a pretty good reference book, they’re not authoratative but they’re well illustrated and clearly explicated x
            And I might even trawl tinterweb for a copy of the above, do you have an ninternational schtandard book number?

          • “Rocks and Minerals” Chris Pellant, Dorling Kindersley Ltd, 2000. ISBN 978 1 4053 5988 7
            “Rocks and Minerals” Robert Louis Bonewitz, Dorling Kindersley Ltd, 2008. ISBN 978 1 4053 2831 9

    • Here we go with the language barrier again. :d: In the U. S. we call those pegs “tees”. Teematite? LOLuv

  7. The sheep are out flying again in Iceland…
    Heavy storm is masking anything. The windspeeds are ridiculous. If you see white things that are airborne on the web-cams, well, you know what it is.

  8. Winds have reached 126km/h at Eyjafjallajokull and Westman Islands.
    But are blowing constantly (more than 1min sustained speed) of 108km/h at the Westman Islands.

    These are tropical storm winds.

    • But where I live its only up to 70km/h. I must say that in winter the winds can sometimes near 200km/h at those windy stations 😉 Not a good place to be there.

      Actually authorities today were worried with tourists, because usually they don’t think a polar storm like this can happen in July, but it does. Winds in some hiking trails today are blowing near 100km/h and temperatures are near freezing point (but still with rain and fog). So good for tourists to get in trouble. And I have seen it countless times.

      • And to share my experiences, I actually caught a storm like this one time in the mountains of Torfajokull (in a July 2 years ago). I was a bit scared but I am always cool head when in the mountains, if you are well dressed and equiped you don’t die from such a summer storm, if you remain calm and know what to do. In winter the risks are much much higher (it can be blizzard for days non-stop) and even professional adventurers have been killed.

        • I forgot to say, that I was caught in that storm 2 years ago, a couple disappeared and they were not found. I was always asking myself what happen during that stormy day (in the mountains) to them. People often get in trouble/lost here (and of course call for help), sometimes they are found already dead.

        • Got caught in a blizzard in the Alps in summer when I was younger but fortunately had a quick route to milder lower slopes on very well marked paths but still a very scary experience.

          Hope Icelanders and tourists stay safe.

          • I got caught also once in a intense snow (but not really a blizzard) in Iceland once, in summer time. I descend down to lowlands and it was still snowing at sea level. This was June last year, and a once in decade kind of event, I was just in wrong spot at wrong time, but I always go with thermal weatherproof clothing and survival blankets to the mountains, winter or summer.

          • I take warm clothes and waterproofs with me now when hiking as you can’t always see when the weather is going to change, and mountains can generate their own storms.

          • It’s not just the cold n’ the rain/snow,
            One time on La Gomera we got up at 630, caught the 730 bus , got dropped off at 830 ready for a 3 1/2 hour descent (We had litres of water, schnacks, map, compass, fleeces, waterproofs, sunblock etc etc,) the next bus was at 1130, way too late to schtart the trek (35c+ already…) down. At 1130 (1/2 hour from the bar) we met some ladies (from northern europe) who were on their way up; who asked “How long to the plateau?” (about an hour of hairy descent…) so I told her maybe 2 hours, maybe more, they had a handbag each, a headband between them… no actual hats, 1/2 litre of water each, and they were wearing trainers (no socks.) Obviously I tried to tell them that maybe going any further might not be such a good idea… but on they went!!!
            We were on our third beer by the time we saw them schtagger past; looking somewhat schunschtroked…
            My local walking is the South Downs of England, but respect is still required 🙂

          • At 35C or more, you’ll find me with cold drink in hand in the bar or under a tree well out of the sun with the SPF 50. This northern European knows she can’t take the sun very well.

            I don’t know about you but I get horrendous blisters if I walk in trainers without socks.

  9. Hope I´m not boring you, but I created another rotating 3D plot representing the progression of the El Hierro earthquakes by continuous color coding. Magnitude is represented by marker size.

    • Thanks Cryphia, very nice indeed…
      I’ve done some plots using just EQs >2.2, they correlate pretty well with all Eqs ( though the recent swarm is very prominent) and (although 2.2 is an arbitrary figure; a large small or a small medium magmatic quake) it seems to make for greater “clarity” when looking at the overall shape of the Hierro happening…
      I mean no criticism whatsoever, I totally appreciate the work thats gone into this, great plot x
      And when I say I’ve done some plots, they are nowhere near your standard x

      • P.S >2.2 gives approx 2500 events rather than nearly 16000, which on my ageing clunkputer is a bit more manageable 🙂

    • Never think of it as boring. Those that do won’t view it, and those that don’t will.

      It’s not your problem. The viewers will decide. If the plot give you insight, thats what’s important. The viewers can sort themselves out.

      BTW, I think it’s a nice plot. [insert the thumbs up emoticon which I think WordPress doesn’t have here]

      • I think Geolurking has nailed it, plot it for yrself, so you can have yr own personal look at the situation… If it seems like it might be worth sharing… share it…last time I posted a plot/movie, I got zero comments, but 100 views on you tube 🙂

    • Charyphia , a Nice plot thank you. This is not a criticism in any way.( I can’t do plots so I wouldn’t presume. 🙂
      This particular plot for me, worked that optical illusion that makes what you are looking at go one way then the other even though you know it’s only going one way. Interesting. I love optical illusions. There again maybe it’s just my perculiar brain, I am known for lack of hand eye coordination!!!!

      • Thanx everyone! If I didn’t enjoy the result I would not post it 🙂
        That illusion struck me too, Diana. It helps me to close the eyes for two seconds, after that the original spin is restored. Has to do with neurons dedicated to represent movement getting tired I think.

  10. Winds have now reached gusts of 133 km/h in south Iceland (Westman Islands). And a person is stuck and injured on the mountains and rescue teams cannot land there with helicopter due to the wind, but the person is not in risk of life (as everyone expected, this was going to happen because its tourist season). This is exactly the same region where I faced a storm also in July two years ago. It’s just next to Katla and its one of most windy places of Iceland (or should we say northern hemisphere).
    Here inland in south Iceland, its only a bit windy but it rains a lot. Poor people that are travelling at this time.

      • Naa, not really. It happens ocasionally during summer time. Sea level pressure is now 970mb, its quite a deep low. In winter storms worse than this routinely happen once a week, and sometimes they are much worse (and obviously much colder too).

  11. Amazing. I went outside and my jeep is full of ash. I can’t believe, it’s ash fall here in south Iceland!!

    The sky is darker and really ashy, I can feel it alsob scratching my eyes and teeth. I think its the most ashy day since the eruption. Its about 1mm of ash already in white surfaces, that fell with the wind and rain. No wonder because there was such a strong gale from the east, after a period of dry weather (the ash dries and blows easily with the wind). But I think no one was counting with this.

    • Get the government to start a crop dusting program with a water and egg yolk mix. That should secure the surface of it for a while.

      (note, in another life, I knew how to mix tempera… it’s water resistant)

    • We just get pollution deposited on surfaces when it rains heavily after a dry spell but not as bad as 1 mm.

      Looking at the Iceland webcams, there is still a lot of bad weather around but as a non-expert, I can’t distinguish this from ash.

      Hope the ash clears soon.

      But I am off to bed now. BBGN.

      • I imagine that it’s tough. I wear contacts and have a problem with airborne dust when it’s windy. It’s not ash, but I use close fitting sunglasses to knock down on the amount of air flowing past my eyes.

  12. Volcano cafe…. always a good place to be even in the middle of a shleepless night……OK Sheep you can come out now……I need to count you. Have they all been blown away in the icelandic gales

  13. Another good pegmatite reference from the Mineralogical Association of Canada.

    Pegmatites
    By David London
    Volume 10, 2008

    London’s book gives us an excellent and thorough review of the current state of the art in pegmatite studies. In Part I, Geology, London provides a primer on the mineralogy, geology, and classification of pegmatites. But the center of gravity of this treatise is in Part II, Origins, which consolidates London’s petrological model of internal pegmatite evolution, and compares it with other concepts.

    ISBN: 978-0-921294-47-4
    SP 10, 368 pages, hardcover 2008
    US$125.00 (outside Canada), CDN$125.00(in Canada)
    (member price US$100.00/CDN$100.00)

    • Thats quite interesting.

      Bayou Come is roughly located between the Mississippi River Fault and the Terrebonne Fault. Two of the roughly fourteen ancient “tranform” faults that are the result of the formation of the Gulf of Mexico basin.

      The entire region is riddled with salt domes (diapirs) and the sediment is several kilometers thick.

      Since we are in rumination mode, the Mississippi River is currently held captive by the Army Corps of Engineers. It’s long past the point where it would have shifted back to the Atchafalaya River… one of it’s ancient paths to the Gulf. The control structure at about 31.082359°N – 91.609431°W regulates the amount of water allowed to flow that direction.

      It’s hard to say what that does to the strata in the region.

      And if you want to see the paper/document that overlay came from…

      http://www.searchanddiscovery.com/documents/2010/30129stephens/ndx_stephens.pdf

        • All extinct I presume. Odd though that you brought up the “V” word, that’s the first thing that came to mind when I read about tremor plus gasses.

          Are those faults part of the New Madrid system?

          Louisiana is a world apart. I remember driving across the Atchafalaya, it was like being on another planet.

          • Strange thing is that volcanic regions can seem extinct and revive as such after millions of years. This was the case with volcanic islands like Tenerife (1 million years of rest, see: J. C. Carracedo, e.a.: Classic Geology in Europe 4. Canary Islands. Harpenden 2002, p.138 f.) and Gran Canaria, but also with Snæfellsnes, the peninsula at Iceland’s west coast. There, volcanic activity stopped around 7 mill. years ago, when the active volcanic zone was transferred to the place where it is now. But interestingly, volcanic activity – independent of the WVZ – was resumed there around 1 million years ago. (See: Thor Thordarson, e.a.: Classic Geology in Europe 3. Iceland. Harpenden 2002, p. 162 ff.). 🙂

        • No, not part of the NMZ. But this is about where it would have been at had the rift suceeded in opening. NMZ is north of the mountain building structure to the North of the plot. I think that the top of it butts into the southern extreme influence of it,

          These faults are infered fron the strata offsets of the basement features.

          Port St Joe fault seems to be the more active, and is responsible for some of the karst topology around here when it cracked the limestone.

    • OMG!
      If they start resuscitating extinct volcanoes, it will be hard to hold the 2012ers’ mouths shut!
      Hope it’s only the Graboids.
      Lurk, I’m sure you have some take on this.
      So far, they cannot confirm the link between the bubbling and the tremors.
      I think Louisiana has enough to worry about with the coming hurricane season and the old, dilapidated, levees (not to mention oil leak). Don’t give them another cause to concern.

      • I will do right that with the next post which is most likely going in later today.
        Did not know Austria had over 40 volcanoes. 😉

        • Given that Austria is just north east of the subduction zone between the Adriatic plate and Eurasian plate it is not surprising that Austria has had volcanoes.

          • Yeah, i knew we had one and said that to Ursula when we discussed the topics of volcanic activity in the Alps with some people here. But they only found out about much of this very recently ( after my schooldays) and this was caused by the same movement which caused the italian quakes.

          • PS: Didn’t intend to scaremonger here – also no expert -, it is just a fact that in s o m e parts of the world volcanic regions have been “revitalised” after a very long time of dormancy. But I have no idea what the phenomenon could be in Louisiana, also the nearest active volcanic region seems to be very far away – which was neither the case with Iceland nor with the Canary Islands. 🙂

      • Eh.. about those levees.

        They are actually well maintained. Work is always being done to keep them in good repair, and they are constantly monitored to catch anything falling outside of the ordinary.

        That levee system runs from south of New Orleans to well up into Missouri. It is in excess of 3,500 miles (5,600 km) when you take in all the turns and bends up and down both sides of the river.

        In order to predict where problems might arise during flooding, scale models of the river system are run through various scenarios. This all started back before computers, and the model runs are still better than some of the best numerical simulations. At one old open air model site in Vicksburg we used to marvel at the intricacy of how it was made. The flow resistance is accounted for by different sizes of wire mesh attached to the model flow bed.

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waterways_Experiment_Station

        Now… as for New Orleans. A little known tidbit of information. New Orleans… modern New Orleans, is in a bowl. Originally built on the high side of a bend in the river (Vieux Carré) the city has since grown down into the low land. In order to claim new land, sections were levee’d off from the river. When you constrain a river, you concentrate the energy of it’s flood stage and increase the scour rate above what it would ordinarily have.

        Another bit of info… before the Katrina event, there was a lawsuit in progress against the Army Corps of Engineers by a contracting company. The Corps had called a section of levee as being below specifications since the wall section would not stay in alignment that the company had built. It turns out that the Corps had not provided enough information about the substrata that the wall was built on and the company had to redo the work after re-enforcing the substrata. The reason that the Corps was being sued by the company was that they refused to defray the cost of re-enforcing the substrata. The companies position was that the Corps had not provided enough information in the initial bid process and was liable for the additional cost. A Corps bureaucrat judge refused the case (they have their own) and I think the end result was that the company eventually went bankrupt.

        Stuff like this never makes it to the main stream press. At one time I had a pdf copy of the case dismissal signed by the judge. (When I data dive, I find all sorts of stuff on the web)

        Anyway… a third tidbit. About half of New Orleans sits on a “fault” system. This isn’t a fault as we know them, more of a slump scarp… a really, really, really, slow slump. Over the years part of it has dropped by a few tens of millimeters.. enough that the top of the levee in some areas not longer meet the required height according to the Corps specifications.

        And last… but not least. The Black Swan.

        The New Orleans levee system is designed to handle storm surges that could conceivably occur. I think the level used is that expected from a direct strike by a Cat 3. Like the Japanese nuclear plant, it did not allow for a Black Swan. UNLIKE the 2011 Tohoku earthquake, they were already aware of the problem.

        You see, Hurricane Betsy flooded New Orleans forty years before Katrina… by topping the levees. (1965)

        How did Forrest Gump put it? “Stupid is as stupid does.”

        • Well, you gave me an opportunity to put the back story out there.

          Possibly… some up and coming journalist that still has a vestige of integrity will happen upon the post and make a name for themselves by doing a proper investigation of it. All of the data should be available with the right FOIA requests. What I found was just due to some poking around… and remembering of the stories that my aunt told about New Orleans and Hurricane Betsy. She lived there at the time.

      • Any one who gets excited by it should come and visit a swamp I own. It regularly explodes, or just plain start burning. Always odd to watch a huge pool of stagnant water start burning on it’s own.

        • My son-in-law works in a store that was built on landfill, A lhuge supermarket was also built close by on the same landfill sight (an old gravel pit) One day the supermarket caught fire and very fortunately indeed no-one was injured. After long investigation it was realise that methane from decomposing rubbish was seeping up through the ground and now all the premises built on that sight have to have methane detectors fitted and it is not at all unusual for them to go off and the buildings have to be evacuated and very well ventilated until it is safe to use again. nasty stuff methane.

    • Good morning Patrick. I saw this last night and it is a strange one after so many months of increasing strain. Maybe Hekla has started Yoga lessons and is just relaxing!!!

    • Hello Patrick!

      A part of it is indeed the wind. But a part of it was odd.
      For instance, during a period with slightly less wind there was a large tremor spike at Mjóaskard SIL. Could have been a highly localized wind… But I am not sure.
      The spike also shows on HAU and SAU.

  14. @ Spica: Cannot get my thoughts away from the delicious cake. Want to try to make it, but I have questions. One regarding the recipe: What kind or rolls are meant? And I see that the cake must be cooked in water. This method is totally unknown to me, never used anything else than an oven for baking. – So you need a waterproof form, which I never have seen in a shop either. Do you think these forms are available in Germany? Should be, as Germans are great bakers (I mean real boulangers!).
    BTW, I have seen this method practiced on TV once. Bread dough was put into a cylindrical tin, closed, attached to a rope and dropped into a well with boiling water. This of course happened on Iceland, country of unlimited possibilities. Maybe one of the Icelanders here (including Inge) knows more about this?

    • Sissel, I think the roll is a semmel (widespread round the central Europe), something like this, but Spica will correct me if it’s not:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaiser_roll
      Probably any white bread roll would do. 🙂
      I’ve never done cooking in water though and would be interested in that as well – where do you get forms for this?

      • Btw, for the Swedish around here, this is not to be confused with a Swedish semla:
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Semla
        A semla is a once-a-year Fat-Tuesday sweet cardamom roll, filled with marzipan and cream and sometimes served in a pool of milk. A semmel is a year-round-daily-most-usuall savoury bread roll that you make your usual sandwiches from. 🙂

        • Another question for Spica: I have a silicone gugelkupfform that looks like this (like this: http://www.mimovrste.com/artikel/3780035834/silikonski-model-za-sarkelj-silikomart-22-x-11-cm), but it does not have a cover, Do you think it would work if I just covered it tightly with aluminium foil and used that?
          Also, in the link that you gave, there is another recipe for this cake and they are putting the form in the water bed in the oven, at 120C. Are you cooking yours in the oven too or is it on the top of the stove?

          • No you need one with a cover. Cooking it in the oven wont give the same result. It needs to be cooked in a pot with water, the reason is the dry air around. This cake is really wet. Its consistence is like in chocolate-cherry cake below the cherries, or a cake which did not really come up like it should have, but with more structure. And the top is necersarry because if completely fills the form an so takes the shape of the top too. It would lift the aluminium foil.

          • Ursula, maybe you could try putting a suitably sized plate on the top with a bit of weight added to prevent it lifting up when the mixture expands. Would that work Spica? It looks like a yummy recipe, I will have to give it a try but need to get the pudding form first.

          • I was thinking about this too, kelda, hm not sure, first you really need to make sure the cake does not get wet from above during the cooking and, my form “hops” in the pot when it cooks, i am not sure if this is necesarry so it does not get burnt from below. The Icelandic tin can Sissel saw, would most certainly work.

          • I would think foil would work well if you put a large pleat in it to allow for expansion and also tied the foil on to the form so that it didn’t just lift off.

        • Forgot one thing, after you soaked the bread in the milk, crush the rest out by pressing it between your hands and dont batter it into a mush, tear it apart with your fingers or/and stir it with a batter but dont make a purée. The little bits are important for the structure.

    • If you should really try it, you and your family wont regret it. I am Austrian, i have worked in a Konditorei and my granny used to cook a cake a day almost, but this is the very best sweet thing i ever ate in my life. Just ask if you need more details. I was not sure how interested people would be so this was just a short ( but correct) version. You do need a tiny bit of baking experience to get it without further explanations.

      • It is still really easy, just to know that whenever you mix butter yolks and sugar, you need to beat the mass till it is creamy which means at least 5 minutes, should be a given.

        • But the cool thing is, it takes 25 to 20 minutes to be stirred together, can stay in the pot for hours, and stays wet-fresh for days. So it is ideal for a dinner. Whenever i ask my guest.. What would you like for desert… Mohr im Hemd.. does this get boring, always the same cake, i have tons of recipes, …. No Never. The only other thing they sometimes ask for is Tiramisu.

  15. There has been another earthquake today onTenerife not far from Los Cristianos.

    1157965 22/07/2012 11:20:17 28.1953 -16.7263 1.6 4 (E) GUIDE OF ISORA.ITF

  16. Anyway, i prepared a post for today, about the answers to the riddles and Austrian volcanoes. I am uncertain if i should post it now. Almost noone is here, And it is by far not the quality you are used to with Carls posts. More personal, less sientific. Thats why i wanted it for sunday while the bar is still open. So shall i klick publish???

Leave a Reply

